Welsh Motoring Writers ushered in committee changes at its annual business meeting at the weekend, with chairman Huw Thomas retiring at the end of ten years.

The role will be filled by Simon Harris, while current treasurer Liam Bird is confirmed for a further two years in the post.

Huw will become the group’s vice-chairman to assist with a smooth transition, while other committee posts will be finalised in the next few weeks, although Colin Barnett has taken over from Ian Johnson as membership secretary, and Rachel Boagey has replaced Simon Harris as website editor.

Huw said, “I made it known at the beginning of my fifth two-year term that my intention was to step down after 10 years and I am delighted to hand over to Simon with whom I have worked so happily and effectively for the last few years.

The group has also donated £500 to Wales Air Ambulance and image above shows Simon Harris handing over the cheque to the charity, along with some of the WMW group.

Share This